Monday, January 1, 2018

Irfan Khan and Vidya Balan won Star Screen Awards 2017.

Irfan Khan and Viday Balan won best actor (male) and (female) awards in Star Screen Awards 2017. Star Screen Awards honours by rewarding the most deserving actors/films of 2017. While the nominations have a mix of critics and popular choice, the award for the Best Actor, however, is shared between the ones who represent the unconventional lot of Indian cinema – Rajkummar Rao and Irrfan Khan for their respective films Newton and Hindi Medium. In fact, even the Best Actress female is won by none other than the woman of the year – Tumhari Sulu aka Vidya Balan and the one who always dares to make brave film choices – Konkana Sen Sharma for Lipstick Under My Burkha. Vidya Balan rightly won the best actress award (popular) for the film Tumhari Sulu. Irfan Khan also rightly won the best actor award (popular) for Hindi medium. Both the artists had given natural performances. Pritam received best music director award for Dangal. Jagga Jasoos could have got more awards. Only Arijit Singh won the award for the best singer for the song in Jagga Jasoos. Films like Tubelight should have won more awards. Subhash Ghai was rightly given lifetime achievement award. Gulzar and Salman Khan gave the award to the great director. Best Film (Critics): Newton Best Director: Nitesh Tiwari (Dangal) Best Actress (Critics): Konkona Sen Sharma (Lipstick Under My Burkha) Best Actress: Vidya Balan (Tumhari Sulu) Best Actor (Critics): Rajkummar Rao (Newton) Best Actor (Popular): Irrfan Khan (Hindi Medium) Best Supporting Actor: Rajkummar Rao (Bareilly Ki Barfi) Best Supporting Actor Female: Neha Dhupia (Tumhari Sulu) Best Dialogues: Bareilly Ki Barfi Best Sound Design: Shahjith Koyeri (Rangoon) Best Background Score: Pritam (Dangal) Best Lyrics: Amitabh Bhattacharya (Dangal) Best Music Director: Pritam (Dangal) Best Editing: Ballu Saluja (Dangal) Best Debut Director: Suresh Triveni (Tumhari Sulu) Best Playback Singer: Arijit Singh (Raees – Zaalima & Jagga Jasoos) Best Playback Singer: Shashaa Tirupati (Kanha – Shubh Mangal Savdhaan) Best Choreographer: Shiamak Davar (Ullu Ka Pattha – Jagga Jasoos) Hosted by Bhumi Pednekar, the awards night was attended by who’s who of Bollywood right from Salman Khan, Varun Dhawan to Tiger Shroff, Madhuri Dixit, Ileana D’Cruz among others.

No comments: