Thursday, May 8, 2014

Ritwik Chakravarty and Konkona Sen Sharma won Vivel filmfare Awards 2013

Ritwik Chakravarty and Konkona Sen Sharma won Vivel Filmfare Awards 2013. The Vivel Filmfare Awards 2013 had been given in 2014. It is better known as Vivel filmfare Awards East. It is related to Bengali films primarily. Ritwik Chakravarty won the best actor award for his performance in the Bengali film Shobdo. Konkona Sen Sharma won the best actress award for her performance in the Bengali film Gainar Baksho. Both of them deserved the awards. Indranil Sengupta won the best supporting award for his performance in the film Chander Pahar. Moushami Chatterjee won the best supporting award for her performance in the film Gainar Baksho. She should have won the best actress award. The film Gainar Baksho revolved around her. There was no point in giving her best supporting actress award. Arijit Singh won the best male singer award for his brilliant song “mon majhi re” in the film Boss. Annesha Datta Gupta won the best female singer award for her song in the film Rupkatha Noy. Jeet Ganguly won the best music director award for the composition of music in the film Boss. Bappi Lahiri handed the award to Jeet Ganguly. Lifetime achievement award was given to Late Suchitra Sen and Madhabi Mukherjee. Jaya Bacchan handed the award to Madhabi Mukherjee. Chander Pahar had been adjudged the best film of the year 2013. It is a pity that Filmfare Award East was not introduced during the 1950s and 1960s. The Bengali Swarnajug started in the 1950s and continued till early 1970s. There were Bengal Film and Journalists Association Awards but no filmfare awards East. It would have been very interesting to see the competition during that era in respect of best acting, whether it was superstar Uttam Kumar or Basanta Choudhury, or Asit Boron, or Bikash Roy. In the female category also there was huge competition with Suchitra Sen, Arundhuti Debi, Manju Dey, Sabitri Chatterjee, Sumitra Debi, Deepti Roy and others. There was huge competition among parallel film directors like Satyajit Ray, Ritwik Ghatak with commercial directors like Ajoy Kar, Tapan Sinha, Agradoot, Agragami, and others. Music directors like Robin Chatterjee, Anupam Ghatak, Sudhin Dasgupta, Dr. Nochiketa Ghosh produced gems after gems.

No comments: