Friday, February 1, 2013

Sharmila Tagore and Rajesh Khanna received Padmabhushan Awards 2013.

Actress Sharmila Tagore and actor Rajesh Khanna received Padmabhushan Awards 2013. It is sad that Rajesh Khanna received the award, but he did he receive after his death. He died last year at the age of 69 years. Singer Sudha Malhotra had been awarded with Padmashri Award. She had sung legendary songs in bollywood films like Barsaat Ki Raat. Some of her beautiful songs included “yeh ishq ishq hai ishq ishq”, “tum agar bhul bhi jayo”, etc. She made a notable contribution during the bollywood films of 1960s. Bengali folk singer Purna Das Bayul received Padmashri award. Filmmaker Ramesh Sippy received Padmashri. His films Sholay, Shakti, Shaan, Saagar stormed bollywood during 1970s and 1980s. He utilized the talents many notable actors of the 1970s and 1980s like Sanjeev Kumar, Amzad Khan, Amitabh Bacchan, Dilip Kumar, Rishi Kapoor and entertained the audience with quality films. There is a big discrepancy in respect of Padma Awards. The popular personalities in the film world never won any Padma Awards. Bengali Superstar Uttam Kumar never won it. Bollywood actors like Bharat Bhushan, Pradip Kumar, Shammi Kapoor, Sadhna, Madhubala never won it. Composers like Madanmohan Kohli, Ravi Shankar Sharma never won it. Directors like Guru Dutt, Raj Khosla, Ajoy Kar, never won the awards. Those who get these awards they are lucky. Those who don’t get they also deserve awards.

No comments: